New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's) Reviews

Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
New Balance Women's 1540 Running Shoes a great pick for any woman on the go! Count on this feature-loaded update to the New Balance 1123 for stability, motion control and support as you walk or run. The roomy fit works for those with special foot needs. No-sew construction means fewer seams for less foot irritation. Special ENCAP technology (a combination of soft EVA and durable polyurethane) provides cushioned support, while the Rollbar minimizes rearfoot movement for superior motion control. Top-of-the-line, removable Abzorb foam insole cushions each step. Orthotic-Friendly. For flat arches.
14 of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Review 1 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Average Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Full Size Too Small
True to Size
Full Size Too Big
Too Narrow
True to Width
Too Wide
No Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:September 11, 2014
walker
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Your Birthday Month: November
New Balance is dependable
Order ID: W7974039
" Pinched a little at pinky toe with extended wearing, but the first 2-3hours were fine. "
Review 2 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Average Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Full Size Too Small
True to Size
Full Size Too Big
Too Narrow
True to Width
Too Wide
No Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:June 25, 2014
HummingBird
Location: Chicago, IL
Your Birthday Month: June
Great Shoe
Order ID: W7887706
" This is my 3rd pair of the 1540. I wear them with the New Balance Pressure Relief Insoles at the recommendation of my Foot Doctor. I wear these shoes 75% of my waking hours. I have an extra pair just for the gym. My only complaint is the lack of color choices! "
Review 3 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Full Size Too Small
True to Size
Full Size Too Big
Too Narrow
True to Width
Too Wide
No Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:June 18, 2014
Hoofer
Location: OH
Your Birthday Month: June
Very comfortable
Order ID: W7871891
" I like the support these shoes give for flat feet. I can walk and run without fatigue. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Full Size Too Small
True to Size
Full Size Too Big
Too Narrow
True to Width
Too Wide
No Arch Support
Normal Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:June 5, 2014
Dardar
Location: Baltimore, MD
Your Birthday Month: June
Good purchase
Order ID: W7828422
" This is the third pair I have gotten. I usually get extra wide which I found to be rather big. Because I purchased these shoes from a local store the only carried them in 2ww or 3 www. They did not carry them in women so I had to get them in men. I recently purchased the women which they carried in a D width, I tried them on I could tell the difference. I will try to make sure I get the right width for now on. orthotic friendly as well. "
Review 5 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Average Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Full Size Too Small
Half Size Too Small
Full Size Too Big
Too Narrow
Too Narrow
Too Wide
No Arch Support
Normal Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:May 7, 2014
Rhea
Location: New Bedford, MA
Your Birthday Month: August
Not The Same!
Order ID: W7744347
" Bring back the 1123! These hurt my feet! Nothing like the 1123! I would like a Refund? I now have more problems with my feet than when I started. "
Review 6 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Average Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Too Narrow
True to Width
Too Wide
No Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:April 9, 2014
JustMe
Location: Slidell, La.
Your Birthday Month: June
Didn't work for me
Order ID: W7667148
" I have been wearing the 1123 for a few years, but they really were starting to show their wear so I thought I'd try these.
The fit was fine except for that my heels slipped in them. I have wide forefeet, but narrower heels. They would probably work fine for someone whose foot is wide all over.
"
Review 7 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Full Size Too Small
True to Size
Full Size Too Big
Too Narrow
True to Width
Too Wide
No Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:March 12, 2014
Badgergirl
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Your Birthday Month: September
Great Shoes
Order ID: W7595127
" Very comfortable and great walking shoes. I ordered wide width and they are great. This is my second pair. "
Review 8 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Minimal Cushioning
Average Cushioning
Extra Cushioning
Full Size Too Small
Half Size Too Small
Full Size Too Big
Too Narrow
True to Width
Too Wide
No Arch Support
No Arch Support
Great Arch Support
Date:December 3, 2013
SamW
Location: North Pole, AK
Your Birthday Month: March
worst purchase ever
" They said these were like the New Balance 1123. I loved my 1123's. These are nothing like them. I have heel spurs and the 1123's worked great, I did not want to take them off they were so comfortable. After 15 minutes the 1540's were killing my feet. I would not recommend these to anybody. "
Review 9 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:August 6, 2013
VirginiaC
Location: CA
Your Birthday Month: April
Great for flat feet
" I don't have to put in my orthotics with these because the arch support is minimal and therefore perfect for me. My chiropractor was impressed with the "serious" pronation adjustment. I bought a pair at a shoe store and my back is very happy with them. I am buying 2 more pair. I wear a size 9 WW and they fit perfectly. "
Review 10 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:June 11, 2013
DREWfromDrew
Location: san francisco
Your Birthday Month: July
Great update for the 1123
" I tend to by multiple pairs of athletic shoes at once. I do this because I do 7-12 miles on my elliptical machine every day at home (these shoes never leave the house). I live and work in a walking neighborhood. I can walk to work, to the 5 different markets, to the local swimming pool, to the park. So I do another 1-5 miles a day outside my home (I only use one pair of shoes outside).
This means that I wear my shoes out within 3 to 6 months. So I generally buy shoes in multiples of 4 each year.
So I didn't buy the 1540's when they first came out because I still had 4 pairs of 1123's to wear. I bought one pair of the 1540's because I didn't want to have to return 3 extra pairs if these didn't work.
I am happy to say that I like this update. Comfy, stable and flexible enough for me. I have ordered my correct size (I used to order 1/2 size too long) and the correct width, and I still have room enough for my toes without the ankle being too roomy (which causes blisters).
So now I have to order 3 pairs and get back to my routine. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:March 9, 2013
LittleOldGalFromJawJa
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Your Birthday Month: November
No Arch Support! I Returned Mine
" This was my first experience with New Balance and I am not happy with it! I returned my Woman's 1540 because they have NO Arch Support at all and very little cushion.
It felt like I was walking barefooted. A Big let down.
I exchanged it for the Orthaheel Action Walker and there is no comparison. The Action Walker is MUCH better!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:March 5, 2013
trkmom1
Location: Arkansas
Disappointed
" I bought these on the review ratings but after I tried them on my first thought was "I don't know what shoe thoses reviews were on but it could not be these!" I put them on and walked with them and they were the most uncomfortable shoe I have ever had on. For that price it was crazy. They sure couldn't beat my Asics! They were stiff and hard and hurt your feet. They went right back! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:September 25, 2012
seljeg
Location: Nebraska
Your Birthday Month: March
Great for my bad knees
" I have been searching for something that would help reduce my foots tendency to pronate inward which contributes to my knee pain. I wore these to work yesterday for the first time (I am on my feet alot) and I have to say it was the first time in a long time I had no knee pain. I am starting PT for sciatica and the physical therapist told me to look for a shoe you cannot bend in half. These are the ticket. Thanks FootSmart for the great shoes. I am recommending them to everyone I know!
JG
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:July 14, 2012
nm19gc
Location: New Mexico
Your Birthday Month: October
great shoes
" New Balance shoes are the only shoes I buy. When I bought the 1540's and tried them on they were to small. I was surprised, I can usually buy a size 8 1/2, but had to send them back to get a size 9. This said, they are the most comfortable shoes I have worn. I will continue to buy New Balance. Just a little disappointed in the size situation. "
Review 15 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:July 10, 2012
Elizard52
Location: Mars Hill, NC
Your Birthday Month: August
magic shoes
" i love these shoes. My arthritic feet love these shoes. They are magic. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:May 21, 2012
jobe
Location: Kansas City
Your Birthday Month: June
Great Shoes
" I love these shoes. They are pricey, but worth it. They have great support and are very breathable, which is important to me. My inserts fit well, and they seem to run fairly true to size. Love them! "
Review 17 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:March 26, 2012
Whosie
Location: Evansville, IN
Your Birthday Month: September
Great fit and very comfy.
" The shoes are a high quality and feel great when on for many hours. I ordered wide width because of the time I am spending in the shoes. Was a smart move for my feet. I highly recommend the NB Women's 1540 Running Shoe. "
Review 18 for New Balance 1540 Running Shoes (Women's)
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Vickie14
Location: MD
Your Birthday Month: December
Nice shoe
" This was a nicely made shoe. Liked the feel and the support it had.
I have a sensitive toe due to surgery and the seam inside bothered my toe. It was the only thing about the shoe I did not like. "